Malaysian Borneo – River Safari on the Kinabatangan River

Kinabatangan River

The Kinabatangan River is located in the Malaysian part of the island of Borneo. More precisely, it is the largest river in the Malaysian state of Sabah with a length of 560 km. It rises in the interior of Sabah and flows into the Sulu Sea. The riverbanks of the Kinabatangan are an exciting venue for all wildlife enthusiasts. As beautiful as this place is, the surrounding area is shocking: we drove from Semporna to the Kinabatangan River and almost the entire 200 km stretch is nothing but palm oil plantations. Even around the river, one has the feeling in some places that only the first rows of trees have been left, more or less as a backdrop to clear everything behind them for palm oil plantations.

Sonnenuntergang am Kinabatangan River

Animals at the Kinabatangan River

Despite the dramatic logging, the Kinabatangan River has some species richness to offer. Proboscis monkeys, long-tailed macaques, hornbills, kingfishers, herons and crocodiles are among the very common animals you are likely to see. But: Unfortunately, there is never a guarantee when it comes to wildlife. If you are lucky, you may also see orangutans, pigmy elephants, silver crested langurs, bear macaques and gibbons. We were lucky and saw everything except Pigmy Elephants and Gibbons. Our minimum goal was to sight “proboscis monkeys”. Unfortunately, at that time the zoom of our cameras was not yet sufficient to take great pictures.

Nasenaffe im Baum
Proboscis Monkey
Rhinozerosvogel am Kinabatangan River
Waran bei der Flussüberquerung
Krokodil
Crocodile
Ein schlafendes Paar Vögel

River Safaris on the Kinabatangan River

The river safaris take place with motor boats. There is room for about 10 people on a boat and you go up and down the river. The safaris take place early in the morning after sunrise or shortly before sunset. The individual boat safaris last 1-1.5 hours. It should be said that these were a bit boring for us after a while, although we always saw something. We were constantly going up and down the river and sat in the boats all the time.

Accommodation at the Kinabatangan River

Along the Kinabatangan River there are many different types of accommodation in all price categories. The good thing is that there are no “hotel landscapes” here, but the accommodations are located in different places on the shore (at least that’s what we saw). The accommodations usually offer full board, as it is difficult to provide for oneself otherwise.

Sukau Menanggul Homestay

If we were to go to the Kinabatangan River again, we would probably choose the Sukau Menanggul Homestay, as it simply seems more familiar. Here you book the safaris individually as you wish and it just seems like a nice little family business. The accommodation seems more spartan, but you can put together your own programme. An overnight stay costs 100 MYR (~ $ 20) including 3 meals. For each boat safari you pay another 50 MYR (~ $ 10). On their Facebook page, I constantly see them showing videos with Pigmy elephants. If you want to contact the owner directly, you can do so via Whatsapp +60 148503728.

Natural Sukau Bilit Resort

We chose the Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort because it seemed very good value for money. For a package for 3 days and 2 nights we paid MYR 371 (just under 80 €) per person. Included are a total of 4 boat safaris (2x in the morning and 2x in the evening), full board, 2 night walks, pick-up/drop-off in Sandakan/Sepilok and tea in the afternoon. Overall, I would say that the whole programme gives you what you can expect for your money. The rooms are great with A/C and virtually no mosquitoes, the boat safaris are great but sometimes a bit tedious, as you are quite passive yourself and travel the same routes, the night hike is so … well (you basically trudge for 3/4 of an hour through the grounds of the lodge with a torch and rubber boots, but that doesn’t mean you don’t see anything exciting). But in the end we reached what we wanted to see and the guide is very competent. There is also relatively little to do between meals. For bookings and info you can contact the owner on tel +60 179729128.
Conclusion: The lodge is great, the food is okay, the safaris serve their purpose and you can forget about the night hike. All in all, it’s more like mass processing, but very cheap.
Catering: Here there was a buffet in each case:
Breakfast: Toast, butter, jam, hard-boiled eggs, baked beans, sausages and fruit.
Lunch: Fried chicken, rice, vegetables, soup (very watery), beef or fish.
Dinner: similar to lunch.



Getting to Kinabatangan River

Getting there is relatively simple. Sandakan/Sepilok are both places from which the lodges usually pick you up free of charge. If you are in other places, such as Kota Kinabalu or Semporna, you can take the bus to Medan Slera, where the lodges will pick you up. Medan Slera is on the main road in Sabah. However, pick-up should be arranged with the lodges in advance.

Tips for Kinabatangan River

  • Be sure to pack mosquito spray and sunscreen.
  • If available, have a telephoto lens or binoculars with you, the animals are relatively far away.
  • Bring long-sleeved clothes to protect yourself from mosquitoes.
  • Take snacks with you, there is a longer break between lunch and dinner
    • Have a headlamp with you for a night hike
0 comments
2 likes
Prev post: Holi in Nepal- Nepal’s most colourful festivalNext post: Cartagena – The Pearl of the Caribbean

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Us

Hi,
We are Julian & Naomi and we love to travel the world and immerse ourselves in other cultures. We have an adventurous, spartan, sustainable and reflective travel style. In our opinion, the greatest adventures are experienced when you do things on your own and try to live like a local. The taste of a country is best captured on the road
Read More

Yoga Retreat in Bali for less than $ 250

Get discount of 5 % with the code TRAVELSLOTH

Do you like our website and would you like to support us?

We are really happy if you share our posts on social media, write comments, click on the little heart next to the posts or link to our website. But we are also happy if you just find the information you were looking for :).

Latest Posts
Most Popular

Malaysisches Borneo – Flusssafari auf dem Kinabatangan River

Der Kinabatangan River

Der Kinabatangan River befindet sich im malaysischen Teil der Insel Borneo. Genauer gesagt ist er der größte Fluss des malaysischen Bundesstaates Sabah mit einer Länge von 560 km. Er entspringt im Landesinneren Sabahs und mündet in die Sulusee. Die Flussufer des Kinabatangan sind ein spannender Schauplatz für alle Wildlife-Enthusiasten. So schön dieser Ort auch ist so schockierend ist der Anblick des Umfeldes: Wir sind von Semporna aus zum Kinabatangan Fluss gefahren und quasi der gesamte Streckenabschnitt über 200 km sind einzig und allein Palmöl-Plantagen. Auch um den Fluss herum hat man an manchen Stellen das Gefühl, dass nur die ersten Reihen an Bäumen gelassen wurden, quasi als Kulisse, um dahinter alles für Palmöl-Plantagen zu roden.

Sonnenuntergang am Kinabatangan River

Tiere am Kinabatangan River

Trotz der dramatischen Rodungen hat der Kinabatangan River einiges an Artenreichtum zu bieten. Nasenaffen, Langschwanzmakaken, Nashornvögel, Eisvögel, Reiher und Krokodile zählen zu den sehr häufig vorkommenden Tieren die man ziemlich wahrscheinlich sehen wird. Aber: Eine Garantie gibt es halt leider nie, wenn es um Wildlife geht. Mit etwas Glück bekommt man darüber hinaus Orang Utans, Pigmy Elefanten, Silberne Haubenlanguren, Bärenmakaken und Gibbons zu sehen. Wir hatten Glück und haben alles außer Pigmy-Elefanten und Gibbons gesehen. Unser Minimalziel lautete „Nasenaffen“ zu sichten. Leider war zu dem Zeitpunkt der Zoom unserer Kameras noch nicht ausreichend, um tolle Bilder zu schießen.

Nasenaffe im Baum
Nasenaffe
Rhinozerosvogel am Kinabatangan River
Waran bei der Flussüberquerung
Krokodil
Krokodil am Kinabatangan River
Ein schlafendes Paar Vögel

Flusssafaris auf dem Kinabatangan River

Die Flusssafaris finden mit Motorbooten statt. Auf einem Boot haben ca. 10 Leute Platz und man fährt den Fluss rauf und runter. Die Safaris finden früh morgens nach Sonnenaufgang bzw. kurz vor Sonnenuntergang statt. Die einzelnen Bootsafaris dauern 1-1,5 Stunden. Dazu sollte gesagt sein, dass diese für uns nach einiger Zeit auch etwas langweilig waren, obwohl man eigentlich immer etwas gesehen hat. Es ging halt dauernd den Fluss auf und ab und man saß durchgängig in den Booten.

Unterkünfte am Kinabatangan River

Am Kinabatangan River gibt es zig verschiedene Unterkünfte in allen Preiskategorien. Das gute ist, dass es hier keine „Hotellandschaften“ gibt, sondern die Unterkünfte jeweils für sich liegen an verschiedensten Stellen am Ufer (so zumindest das was wir gesehen haben). Die Unterkünfte bieten in der Regel eine Vollpension an, da es schwierig ist sich anderweitig zu versorgen.

Sukau Menanggul Homestay

Würden wir nochmals zum Kinabatangan River fahren würden wir uns vermutlich für das Sukau Menanggul Homestay entscheiden, da es einfach familiärer wirkt. Hier bucht man die Safaris einzeln nach Belieben dazu und es wirkt einfach wie ein netter kleiner Familienbetrieb. Die Unterkunft wirkt spartanischer aber man kann sich sein Programm selbst zusammenstellen. Die Übernachtung kostet 100 MYR (~21 €) inkl. 3 Mahlzeiten. Je Bootssafari bezahlt man nochmal 50 MYR (11 €). Auf deren Facebook-Seite sehe ich ständig, wie sie Videos mit Pigmy-Elefanten zeigen. Wenn ihr den Besitzer direkt kontaktieren wollt könnt ihr das über Whatsapp tun +60 148503728.

Natural Sukau Bilit Resort

Wir haben uns für das Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort entschieden, da für uns Preis/Leistung sehr gut erschien. Für ein Paket für 3 Tage und 2 Nächte haben wir pro Person MYR 371 (knapp 80 €) gezahlt. Enthalten sind insgesamt 4 Boots-Safaris (2x morgen und 2x abend), Vollpension, 2 Nachtwanderungen, Abholung bzw. Drop-off in Sandakan/Sepilok und Tee am Nachmittag. Insgesamt würde ich sagen, dass das ganze Programm einem das bietet, was man für sein Geld erwarten kann. Die Zimmer sind super mit A/C und quasi keinen Mosquitos, die Bootssafaris sind toll aber mitunter etwas langwierig, da man selbst ziemlich passiv ist und gefühlt die gleichen Strecken fährt, die Nachtwanderung ist so … naja (man stapft im Prinzip eine 3/4 Stunde durch das Gelände der Lodge mit Taschenlampe und Gummistiefel, was aber nicht heißt dass man nichts spannendes sieht). Aber letzten Endes haben wir das erreicht was wir sehen wollten und der Guide ist sehr kompetent. Zwischen den Mahlzeiten gibt es auch relativ wenig zu tun. Für Buchungen und Infos könnt ihr den Besitzer unter Tel. +60 179729128 kontaktieren.
Fazit: Lodge ist super, Essen in Ordnung, Safaris erfüllen ihren Zweck und die Nachtwanderung kann man knicken. Insgesamt schon eher Massenabfertigung aber dafür auch sehr günstig.
Verpflegung: Hier gab es jeweils Buffet:
Frühstück: Toast, Butter, Marmelade, hartgekochte Eier, Baked Beans, Würstchen und Obst
Mittagessen: Frittiertes Hähnchen, Reis, Gemüse, Suppe (sehr wässrig), Rind bzw. Fisch
Abendessen: ähnlich wie mittag.

Anfahrt zum Kinabatangan River

Die Anfahrt ist relativ simpel. Sandakan/Sepilok sind beides Orte von denen die Lodges einen in der Regel kostenfrei abholen. Wer in anderen Orten wie zum Beispiel Kota Kinabalu oder Semporna ist fährt mit dem Bus bis nach Medan Slera und wird dort von den Lodges eingesammelt. Medan Slera befindet sich auf der Hauptverkehrsstraße in Sabah. Die Abholung sollte allerdings vorher mit den Lodges abgestimmt werden.

Tipps für Kinabatangan River

  • Unbeding Moskito-Spray & Sonnencreme einpacken
  • Wenn vorhanden ein Tele-Objektiv oder Fernglas dabei haben, die Tiere sind relativ weit entfernt.
  • Langärmige Klam,otten dabei haben, um sich vor Moskitos zu schützen
  • Snacks mitnehmen, zwischen Mittag- und Abendessen ist eine längere Pause
  • Stirnlampe dabei haben für Nachtwanderung

Anfahrt zum Kinabatangan River

Der Kinabatangan River befindet sich ca. eine halbe Stunde von der Hauptstraße zwischen Sandakan und Semporna entfernt. Die Lodges holen dich in aller Regel an der Kreuzung in Medan Slera ab und bringen dich dann zur Unterkunft. Wenn du vorher in Sepilok bzw. Sandakan sein solltest holt die Unterkunft dich direkt ab. Von Semporna aus fährst du am besten mit dem Bus und steigst in Medan Slera aus.

0 comments
0 likes
Prev post: Holi Festival – Nepals farbenfrohes FestNext post: Cartagena – Die Perle der Karibik

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Über uns

Hi, wir sind Julian & Naomi und lieben es durch die Welt zu reisen und in fremde Kulturen abzutauchen. Wir versuchen einen möglichst intensiven und nachhaltigen Reisestil zu pflegen und bringen diese Elemente auch mit in unseren Blog mit ein. Read More

Latest Posts
Most Popular